coilovers?

Discussion in 'Suspension/Chassis' started by Dope_Yota, Jul 3, 2013.

1. Dope_Yota

Dope_Yota Newbie

hey guys idk if yall have seen my introduction thread but im new to the mini truck scene and i own a 1980 toyota truck.

its slammed on 15x10 -45 offset

i seen some thread where a person said something about rear coilovers? is it possible to get some for my truck??? i wanna go lower lol

it already has 4' drop blocks and flipped leaf spring , c notched frame

some type of "gas" shocks blah blah blah
    like i said i dont know much but im learning,..... im a drifter so bare with me please...any info will help thanks

Attached Files:

2. standardbyker88

standardbyker88 Grand Toyotaholic

Truck:
    78 lolux and an 89 ramcharger
    For coil overs you would need a link bar setup. A 2 link at minimum. Mounting the coil over is as easy as having a frame and axle mount. The stock shocks are on the front side of the axle. I would run them on the back side. Every time I think about coilovers and add up the cost, it makes me want adjustable suspension. For what a good set of coilovers and a 4 link costs and involves, might as well go hydros or bags. Got any pics of your rear suspension setup with the notch?

3. standardbyker88

Truck:
    I've been steering more and more towards hydros for my project. My 78 is about as low as static will allow. With hydros there's no noisy compressors and giant tanks. Hide a few batteries as a pump/dump setup. Also fits the tight frame confines better in a lot of ways.

Anyways, a good set of coil overs would handle killer. These trucks seem to suffer from body roll the most. Soft stock springs and little to no sway bars stock. Alot of it comes from the inside leaf letting the body rise. Limiting straps might make that problem solved.

4. first80toyota

first80toyota Addict

Truck:
    '77 Hilux