84-88 Pickup and 4Runner SR5 Gauge Cluster swap write up by SD Yota

Discussion in 'Interior/Electronics' started by SD YOTA, Jan 13, 2009.

  1. CatLes

    CatLes Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Truck:
    88 Toyota Truck
    Thanks for the great pictured info but I wonder where do I hook up the wires for the voltage gauge to work?
     
  2. GrantH

    GrantH Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hattiesburg, MS
    Just so it's known, and i'm not sure if it's been mentioned, but you do not have to repin the harness. There is a nut on the back side you can simply put a ring terminal and wire on and secure them down.
     
  3. guahan671

    guahan671 Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NY
    Truck:
    86 Toyota (sold)
    GREAT GREAT GREAT write-up!!! now all i need to get is a sr5 cluster. i dont like adding a tach, looks kinda messy. thanx alot SD Yota! (but, still waiting for solutions mentioned...) thanx again!
     
  4. wheels

    wheels Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Truck:
    88 YN57 (2wd single cab 3y)
    Just to answer my own question from a while back. :runaway: the fuel gauge works fine it just keeps showing the tank level as it was before the key was turned off. And in answer to the other question,The voltage display must work from the exsiting wiring as you don't have to run a wire for it. :waytogo:
     
  5. Toy88yota

    Toy88yota Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Truck:
    88 2wd
    I believe I just bought a cluster out of an 82-83. Does anyone know if it will work in my 88?
     
  6. Gecko83

    Gecko83 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Truck:
    82 SR5, 91 SR5
    SD Yota,

    Can this be done to a 91 as well ....

    I would love a tach and the other gauges would be much nicer...

    thanks for any response... from anyone in this regard..
     
  7. DannyBoy

    DannyBoy Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    Truck:
    91 xcab
    yup. have em in my 91 xcab 22re 5 speed.
     
  8. flacostaco

    flacostaco Toyotaholic

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Corona Southern Cali
    Truck:
    87 pickup 04 camry
  9. AGUILAR3

    AGUILAR3 Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    SoCal (626)
    So as long as its off of a 4cy and the speedo cable matches my own (cable/electric), any year gauge cluster should work on my 92? What if its a v6? and is there a visual difference between a 4 and v6 cluster?
     
  10. tacobo670

    tacobo670 Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Truck:
    94 Base
    .... same here. looking to pick up a cluster out of a 95 4Runner --sr5 v6. electronic speedo (as is in my 94 -base 22re) will the cluster work? or will i have to mess with the wiring to get it to match with 4cyl?
     
  11. ShoNuff

    ShoNuff Toyotaholic

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    seattle
    Truck:
    75 hilux, 80 4x4
    awsome write up, it helped a ton :waytogo:

    for me on a carb'd 87 i changed the oil sender and ran a tach wire off the factory plug on the coil, otherwise it was plug and play.

    i connected my tach like this, will be replacing the connectors with factory stuff when i find it.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. igoingtellmymom12

    igoingtellmymom12 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Truck:
    88 pickup
    I was wondering if the sr5 cluster and the turbo sr5 cluster would be the same???? Like wiring because I installed a turbo cluster thinking it would be the same....

    I hooked up the tach wire... Works perfectly... Hooked up the oil pressure switch.... Works...

    But my fuel gauge doesn't.... ???? I'm kinda scratching my head why it doesn't work... I have gas in my tank....

    Any suggestions????
     
  13. SD YOTA

    SD YOTA Grand Toyotaholic

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,585
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    san diego
    Truck:
    2000 Toyota Tacoma 2wd
    it could be a bad gauge. its not the digital one is it??
     
  14. igoingtellmymom12

    igoingtellmymom12 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Truck:
    88 pickup
    No it's like the sr5 cluster with the turbo light right underneath the rpm tach
     
  15. SD YOTA

    SD YOTA Grand Toyotaholic

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,585
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    san diego
    Truck:
    2000 Toyota Tacoma 2wd
    oh ok... umm, if your stock gauge was working before on your old cluster, i would say its the gauge on the new cluster is broke... you can check the connection on it and make sure its making good contact, if not, you will need to take it apart and replace it or repair the old one.
     
  16. igoingtellmymom12

    igoingtellmymom12 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Truck:
    88 pickup
    Just found out that the sr5 turbo cluster is different from the sr5 cluster... The cluster works fine it's just that the fuel sender is different from a turbo truck to a regular truck....
     
  17. SD YOTA

    SD YOTA Grand Toyotaholic

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,585
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    san diego
    Truck:
    2000 Toyota Tacoma 2wd
    ah man... that sucks...
     
  18. Elhuaraches

    Elhuaraches Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Bernardino, Ca
    Truck:
    1984 Toyota Hilux 4x4
    Hopefully someone might have an awnser. well i did my swap on my 84 Rn60 and everything seems to work except for my 4WD light. it is on the right pin and it does receive signal ect. i even swapped the light bulb underneath it and still doesnt work.
     
  19. rusty904

    rusty904 Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Reviving a very old thread. This seems to be the best write up I can find for this but is there anyway to get the pictures restored?
     
    Erwin Merida likes this.
  20. Erwin Merida

    Erwin Merida Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Long Beach, California
    Truck:
    LEXXXI - '93 Toyota Pickup shorty, with 5 on the floor!
    That would be helpful..
     

Share This Page