Rust on the Floorboards

Discussion in 'Interior/Electronics' started by 71hans, Oct 28, 2011.

1. 71hans

71hans Member

Truck:
    71 Toyota Hilux
    I removed the rubber mat that covers the driver and passenger floorboards and found a lot of rust and deterioration on the driver side. The rust is so bad there are two spots that have rusted completely through. I have been sanding and wire brushing the areas to clean them up. Should I do anything else to treat the areas? I am thinking of filling the areas with bondo and then sanding down to match the floorboards. After applying the bondo I am thinking of covering the actual floorboards with a roll on truck bed liner, a thick rubber sealant. Any thoughts on this plan? I'm wondering how I should treat the rusted areas before bondo ing....I don't know if I'll be able to get the areas to a shinny metal so not sure how well the bondo will stick. I'm new to prepping metal for body work and need some good advice for prepping these areas and applying something to stop the rust and also to protect the current metal.

Thanks

2. burnzya

burnzya Grand Toyotaholic

Truck:
    bodied 73 hilux
    don't put bondo over it

if you can, weld a patch in or have someone do it for you. or worst case cut out the rust and use some panel bond to glue on a steel patch then seam seal it really good.

can you post a pic of the floorboard?

3. 71hans

71hans Member

Truck:
    71 Toyota Hilux
    why is bondo a bad idea? Just curious. I was not completely sold on the idea, thought maybe it would not hold up and eventually fail. Here are two pics...the larger hole is obvious, the second hole is about 2inch slit on the left side of the picture...running horizontal to the picture.

thanks

Attached Files:

4. 71hans

71hans Member

Truck:
    71 Toyota Hilux