Rpm signal

Discussion in 'Interior/Electronics' started by Chef90, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. Chef90

    Chef90 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Truck:
    79 long bed
    Does anybody know off hand what wire/wires I need to tap into to get my rpm to work. Got an original cluster with the same plug as my 79 so no cutting or splicing to get the rest of the things in the cluster to work. Just wondering what I need to do now to get the rpms working. I've looked for wiring diagrams but for some reason I'm getting crappy copies or dead links. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Chef90

    Chef90 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Truck:
    79 long bed
    Bump if somebody could point me in the direction of a good wiring diagram that would work for me as well
     
  3. YOguyDA

    YOguyDA Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Truck:
    1986 Regular Cab
    On my '86, there was a single pigtail/plug coming off the coil. I tapped into that for the tach I stole out of a friends abandoned speed boat ;)
     
  4. YOguyDA

    YOguyDA Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Truck:
    1986 Regular Cab
  5. Chef90

    Chef90 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Truck:
    79 long bed
    Thanks for the info. I have a single plug coming off the coil, I'm going to see if that works tomorrow. I have stupid work to go to.
     

Share This Page