How to remove the dash in a 73?

Discussion in 'Interior/Electronics' started by curbstomp336, Jun 4, 2012.

1. curbstomp336

curbstomp336 Newbie

Truck:
    85 yota
    Never really took one out of a hilux, i want to sand it down and paint it but want to know how to do it right when i do it. Also the "foam" on the dash is all cracked any ways of fixing it?

2. 74Hiluxproject

74Hiluxproject Enthusiast

Truck:
    1974 Toyota Supra Truck
    Hey man, so i just ran out and took some pics, i beleive with the dash, this is about as far as you can go.

[​IMG]

And this is a upword shot from the floor, the back of it just seems to be one peice the forms into the firewall

[​IMG]

So you may just tear it down to this point, and do a good tape job and sand paint where its at, as for getting it all the way out.. i dont think its going anywhere, but im also no expert on this truck mine is a 74 so i beleive its the same.

3. 74Hiluxproject

Truck:
    1974 Toyota Supra Truck
    As for the foam peice across the top, take it off and you could always spray foam it or something, sand it down, and re-wrap with a peice of material, mine has a few cracks, i have it out and i plan on spray foaming just the cracks, sanding it down flush, then wrapping in a peice of suede :)

4. curbstomp336

curbstomp336 Newbie

Truck:
    85 yota
    Ok thanks guys!!! Im gonna tackle this soon :) Thanks for the help again!!

5. MercuryMan

MercuryMan Member

Truck:
    1974 Hilux
    Same with my Hilux. My dash was broken and the top side is split in a few places. I fixed the radio dash piece with some mercaptane epoxy and sanded it down, then painted it black.