1982 pickup - What length are the torsion bars?

Discussion in 'Suspension/Chassis' started by Tuhd The Troll, Jun 11, 2012.

1. Tuhd The Troll

Tuhd The Troll Veteran

Truck:
    1982 SR5
    I want to drop my truck a couple inches (2" seems about right, but 3 would be nice), but I don't want to be bottoming out on the roads around here (they have random road level drops in 65+ mph zones), so I've been trying to find stronger torsion bars. Unfortunately all I can find are 84+, and there's basically no information on the net as to the length of what I have.

I've even attempted to search part numbers, but I seem to suck at finding the info, so I'm appealing to you folks.

I should also ask if this is a smart choice (upping the spring rate), or would stronger/stiffer shocks be a smarter investment for ride quality? Or am I so off the mark I should consider a completely different direction? Obviously, I'm no expert. :)

2. trackfox

trackfox Enthusiast

Truck:
    77 longbed
    :bump:

im also interested in this. i would like a stiffer ride and to be as low as possible(like Ahshiet) and not just having 0 downward suspension travel. coilovers may be the best choice, but what are other options?

i think most people do bags or just deal with no suspension (like Ahshiet) could be fun for a while but might get old. i may just take out the torsion bars to begin with, so i can put them back in. rather then letting it get torn out...

off topic does any one with mini trucks put skid plates? i want to...

3. Tuhd The Troll

Tuhd The Troll Veteran

Truck:
    1982 SR5
    dang, I was hoping the reply was an answer ;)