new member... 15x7 or 15x8

Discussion in 'Wheels/Tires' started by aircrook, May 3, 2011.

1. aircrook

aircrook Member

Truck:
    1990 xcab 2wd SR5
    I recently purchased a 1990 extcab SR5. I love it... but it needs something beyond the stock 15x6 alloys.

I have a quick question for those running 15's. Do you go 7inch or 8inch? I am planing on a very conservative 2inch drop and because I am cheap I want to reuse the brand new but off size 205/70-15's it has on it now. I am old and like the look of the minitrucks back when I was a young driver (80's).

Thanks for helping me recapture my youth!

2. SD YOTA

SD YOTA Grand Toyotaholic

Truck:
    2000 Toyota Tacoma 2wd
    welcome to the site!

me personally, im also trying to "capture" the essence of the old school mini's as well. i am going with some 15x8 wheels with some slightly stretched in tires.

to give an opinion, i would rather go 15x8 than 15x7....... the stance will be a bit more aggressive and fill out that massive 70 series tire better.

as for old mini truck style, this members truck here gave me a little inspiration for the look i am going for.

[​IMG]

3. aircrook

aircrook Member

Truck:
    1990 xcab 2wd SR5
    See now that is what I am talking about... I did some more thread searching... you are dead right. 15x8's look the right way. 15x7's look like factory replacements.

So now that is out of the way 15x8 with 4 inch(ish) back space... so what wheels? I love the deeper lip that the old schools had. Dream would be to make it look like a AE86 autocrosser... except a truck.

Thanks for the help.

4. jctoy29

jctoy29 Addict

Truck:
    1993 toyota standard cab short bed
    You want to sell your stocks?

5. aircrook

aircrook Member

Truck:
    1990 xcab 2wd SR5
    sure I would be happy too... well after I get a new set of wheels.

6. DionTDE

DionTDE Addict

Truck:
    93 single cab 2wd
    I gotta say I love that picture.

7. SD YOTA

Truck:
    2000 Toyota Tacoma 2wd