Lowering a '91 w/4WD

Discussion in '1989-1995 Build-Up/Project Threads' started by T.R.Koneski, Jan 13, 2022.

1. T.R.Koneski

T.R.Koneski Newbie

Hey everybody, I'm new to this forum and I'm new to Toyotas. I have an '89 I'm fixing up (4x4, 22RE, 5spd, lifted) and a '91 that is practically stock (4x4, 22RE, crappy auto that I'm getting rid of, stock height). I'm looking to lower the '91 but I can't seem to find anyone who has information on drop spindles or any other components for the front of a 4WD truck. Can anyone tell me what they know? I know it's more common to lower the 2WD's but I can't be the only one asking this question. Are there any components available, or is the best option a B/J swap and cranking down the torsion bars? It's a long term project so I'm not in a rush.
    Thanks for any help, ideas, or discouraging cautions.

2. Perkolator

Perkolator Toyotaholic

Truck:
    1975 Hilux
    I don't believe you can use 2wd spindles on the 4wd.

I want to say on a Tacoma you can though, as I assume the 2wd Prerunners use the same spindles as the 4wd.

How low are you trying to make your 4wd?

3. T.R.Koneski

T.R.Koneski Newbie

Hey, man.
    I’m not looking to slam it to the ground. I want a sportier look and more connected driving experience, so pretty much a 2/3 is what I’m looking for. Since the 4WD platform already sits higher I think I could even get away with a 3/4 without it being crazy. What do you think?

4. Perkolator

Perkolator Toyotaholic

Truck:
    1975 Hilux
    I dunno man, I've never really heard of someone wanting to lower a 4wd beyond than stock height. Guessing there's a limit to how much you'll even be able to lower the front via the t-bars and still have some spring resistance to keep you off the bump stops. Pretty sure you cannot re-index the tbars on these trucks, to reposition them for stiffness at the lower height. Might be possible but won't be a simple bolt-on solution, as the t-bars have keyways on the splined ends.