Fuel Cell Install... Help!

Discussion in '1984-1988 Pickup Discussion' started by James Wilshire, Oct 27, 2020.

1. James Wilshire

James Wilshire Newbie

Truck:
    89 Pickup
    Fuel Wiring.jpg Sorry if this is a sloppy write up/question it is my first time posting here. But anyway, I inherited my pop's '89 pickup, it is the 2.4 liter 22re automatic model. It has been sitting for around 8 or so years, but has been in the garage so I guess that's the good part of this. I was looking to replace the fuel tank (Well the entire fuel system that is) with an in-bed fuel cell and a 68gph 43psi in line pump (From what I understand that is what they need. Please correct me if I am wrong.). So I bought a fuel cell and pulled the old tank out along with the old sending unit. While I was pulling it I noticed the old electrical connectors that I didn't even think of before. I know one has to be for the sending unit but what is the other one? Also my fuel cell has a sending unit 0-90 ohm but it is not the same connector, so do I wire the new sending unit to the old one someway or what? Oh and the picture is from a you tube video I forgot to grab one while my bed was off. Red Is what I don't know yellow is I believe the sending unit.
    Thanks for the help!

[​IMG]

2. Justin Danger

Justin Danger Toyotaholic

Truck:
    1986 Toyota Xtra cab SR5 Turbo 22rte
    The one circled in red is the fuel level sending unit, the yellow is the pump.

3. jetas

jetas Grand Toyotaholic

Truck:
    72.5 Hilux
    I dont think the fuel cell sending unit has the same ohm range as the OEM one does

4. redman

redman Enthusiast