Advice needed for repairing these floor pans

Discussion in 'Exterior/Body' started by jrbobbles, Jan 11, 2018.

1. jrbobbles

jrbobbles Newbie

Truck:
    1970 Hilux (RN12)
    I've finally decided to bite the bullet and dig into doing something about the rusted floor pans on my '70 Hilux. Both the driver and passenger sides are pretty shot in the front outside corners where the cab mounts are.

I've read through all the threads I could find on this and I know there's no after market panels and something solid from a donor isn't easy to come by, so I realize I'll have to fabricate something myself.

I'm pretty new to welding/bodywork, so I'm not quite sure how to come at this, especially addressing the cab mounts. I don't need to perfectly reproduce what I will cut out - just need to make everything solid again. Not looking to do a body drop or anything aggressive. Once the steel is solid again I plan to prep/Por-15 the whole floor.

My initial Qs:
    - Are strengthening ribs absolutely necessary (I would have to figure out how to do that), or would flat 20 gauge sheet metal be ok?
    - Any ideas on what to do for cab mounts? These are so gone that I don't even know what they're supposed to look like. Did they have a rubber bushing and/or multiple layers of metal?
    - Anything structural I need to pay extra close attention to (besides that obvious unattached front driver-side support for the bench seat :eek:)?

Any advice/tips/anecdotes/warnings are appreciated! I'd love it if anyone could post some pics of what the cab mount area is supposed to look like.

IMG_4010.jpg IMG_4009.jpg

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jan 11, 2018
  2. jetas

jetas Grand Toyotaholic

Truck:
    72.5 Hilux
    Rolling beads in the metal will add rigidity.

Not sure about how to add the cupped portion for the actual mount, ive been wondering how to do it also(without expensive tools shop have) since my passenger side mount is rotting through a bit

3. fred heath

fred heath Addict