22R - Electric Fan Conversion Help

Discussion in 'Engine/Drivetrain' started by SupremeCling, Mar 29, 2022.

1. SupremeCling

SupremeCling Newbie

Truck:
    89 Pickup
    Hi All,

On the quest to modify, and something that seems to make the most sense right away is an electric fan. It is not a secret that these trucks do not have a ton of power and, from what I have read, converting to an electric fan could help a tiny bit with MPG and Horsepower.

I would also like to upgrade the Radiator soon, but the electric fan is the first thing to do because of the immediate benefit gained (as read) vs the cost and time committed.

I have a 1989 Toyota Pickup, 2WD, 22R, and 4 Speed Manual Gear Box

I have read several forums and posts that have decent information about 22RE Electric Fan Conversion, but not much on 22R.

I have never done this sort of work before so there is a lot unknown. Here are my primary questions:

• electric fan recommendations?
    • will I need some sort of ecu?
    • will I need some sort of thermostat?
    • will the alternator need upgraded because the fan draws more current?

I hope to hear from someone soon!

2. Justin Danger

Justin Danger Toyotaholic

Truck:
    1986 Toyota Xtra cab SR5 Turbo 22rte
    Fans work best with a shroud, so try to find a fan that fits in your stock shroud, or comes with one that you can make work.
    You then will need a 'controller'. Those kits usually come with a thermostatic switch, a fuse, and a relay. The thermostatic switch can be a thread in to a bung with coolant, or the type that pushes into your radiator fins. That switch triggers the relay to turn your fans on and off at specific temperatures.
    I ran dual fans for a while without an upgraded alternator, so you may be fine.
    There are probably kits made specifically for your truck's engine and radiator setup that are fairly plug and play.

SupremeCling likes this.
  3. Pearce

Pearce Toyotaholic

Truck:
    1973 hilux