#HarrybuildsaHilux

Discussion in 'Pre-1975 Build-Up/Project Threads' started by hambler, Mar 22, 2018.

1. hambler

hambler Member

Truck:
    '74 hilux short bed
    For those of you that don't get my title, look up 3D_Magic_Mike on instagram. He is the lead engineer of The Roadster Shop, building the most glorious Datsun 620 truck, and uses the hashtag #Mikebuildsadatsun. Since my first name is Harry, I've decided to adopt the hashtag #Harrybuildsahilux

Sorry for the long introduction: Hello all, I'm new to mini trucks in general, and am starting with a '74 Hilux. It was a farm truck in South Carolina up until a few years ago, and all things considered is pretty clean. It has a 20R swapped in, is lowered on Mighty Max springs w/ disc brakes in the front and 2" lowering blocks in the back. Here's a list of a couple simple things I've fixed so far: New seats, flooring, door seals, grills and I've tidied up some wiring on it. The goal is to make this truck as fun to drive as possible while not compromising its practicality as a truck and something I could daily drive if I wanted to. In the next couple weeks I am getting a house with my own garage for the first time in my life (6 cars!!!). I've never really "built" a car before, but hopefully now that I have garage space I can do a proper "build" on this truck. I am a Mechanical Engineer by both education and occupation, my dad was a Formula One mechanic for Team Lotus in the 70's and 80's, and my family has been building racecars since the early 1900's. Hopefully I can bring all this knowledge together to make something awesome happen.