Timing Chain Cover Removal

Discussion in 'Engine/Drivetrain' started by toy_boy, Mar 12, 2009.

1. toy_boy

toy_boy Addict

Truck:
    1979 Toyota 4x4
    ...without removing the head and possibly the oil pan.

I snapped (2) bolts that hold my water pump. 12mm bolt that actually bolts down into the block. 10mm bolt at the center of the pump, just to the right of that 12mm bolt.

12mm bolt was just out of sheer stupidity and over torquing. Spun out fine, spun in smooth. Because it's not "frozen" by rust and time, there's hope that once I get the timing chain cover off I'll be in a better position to remove it from the block.

10mm bolt was because of rust and age. I was as gentle as one can be, but it snapped, anyway.

I've never done this before.....but I'm not about to scrap my motor because of this, nor do I want to pay the money to have someone else do it for me.

I'll use this thread to document the experience.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Give you an idea of just how much of each bolt I lost.

[​IMG]

Because I did consider trying to drill these bolts out without pulling off the timing chain cover, I found a set of Craftsman Easy Outs on Craigslist. Asking $15....talked him down to $10. Waste of time and money. Both bits snapped within minutes - and that was with very little pressure and being ultra careful with my drill speed.

[​IMG]

I'm not about to lose a drill bit in one of these bolts, or worse, an easy out!

I've been told by various guys, one being "Todd" at (http://www.engnbldr.com/) that not having the one 10mm bolt at the center of my pump should not be a big deal, just as long as the bolts on the edges and corners are fine. He did advise me that it would be better to deal with the 12mm bolt with the cover off. He's the second "Toyota expert" who has told me this.

These machine shop guys like "Todd" know all kinds of tricks when it comes to snapped-bolt-extracting.

Their experience is simply priceless.

Last edited: Mar 12, 2009
  2. B.Y.E.