Revive 79

Discussion in '1976-1983 Build-Up/Project Threads' started by standfast, Feb 6, 2018.

1. standfast

standfast Newbie

Hey yall! Newbie here. We've had this 79 in the family since 86 and have put on hundreds of thousands of miles on it. About 4 years ago the timing chain broke and it sat dead in the backyard ever since. My son and I decided to get it back up and running. We found a wrecked 84 Celica with a 22RE in it that was running great with only 114k miles on the car. Pulled the engine and all the wiring out of the car so I could use it to convert the truck over to fuel injection. While the engine was out I put a new timing chain, water pump, oil pump, alternator, starter, clutch and various other small components on it. I swapped the oil pan and pickup from the 20r that came out of the truck onto the car's 22re engine so it would clear the engine x-member. Now the engine is sat back down in the truck with a 5 speed manual w50 gearbox. Last night I started on the fun part, disecting the wiring harness to get all required systems connected. I am going through the entire harness and removing whatever is not needed. After all the running gear is back up and functioning, we'll turn our focus to making it look cool. I am thinking we'll lower it 2-3", deal with the crappy paint, and maybe put some new shoes on it. Glad I found this place to get ideas on how to make it cool!

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 6, 2018
  2. jetas

jetas Grand Toyotaholic

Truck:
    72.5 Hilux
    Thats so cool to have your kid working on it with you.

Keep up the work and post up more on its progress

3. Hands_On_Henry

Hands_On_Henry Member

Truck:
    1985 22R/4spd
    This is awesome! Great project.
    Welcome to the forum.

4. Dan McBoost

Dan McBoost Enthusiast

Truck:
    78 Pickup
    awesome. It sure looks like we are doing the same thing(although mine is a 78), haha.

What are your plans for the fuel rail return into the trucks gas tank?